the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Alien & Naturalised species of the UK > Naturalised
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Wall Lizard - Alien Status

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arrazello Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wall Lizard - Alien Status
    Posted: 18 Feb 2008 at 6:26am
Hello Forum.
I am a third year student of Environmental Science. Currrently I am writing an assignment on alien species and have chosen to argue the case that the alien vs. native species debate is outdated and not always appropriate esp. in light of changing global climate.
I want to draw a comparison between the little ringed plover which has native status (despite the first breeding pair in 1938) and the wall lizard afforded protection in Europe but not in England due to its alien status.
If the wall lizard is not a threat to a native ecosystem, it seems somewhat counterproductive in terms of preserving global biodiversity to not afford it protection in the UK. Can the forum offer an opinion on this?

I am also wondering if the wall lizard can be stated as inhabiting mostly artificially created environments?
Vicar View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vicar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2008 at 2:44pm
Hi Arrazello, & welcome.

"If the wall lizard is not a threat to a native ecosystem"

This has not been proved definitively either way, but anecdotal evidence, and recent research suggests a negative impact upon both Sand lizard and Common lizard status.

In the UK it is true that the Wall lizard is most often associated with man-made structures (including quarries) and cliff-faces; although there are exceptions.