the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Herpetofauna Native to the UK > Adder
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

North Yorkshire Adders w015

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slippery42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: North Yorkshire Adders w015
    Posted: 22 Feb 2015 at 12:38pm
These are from a site I have been working on for 30 years.

Its an upland moor and very exposed and with a small but stable population.

After last years accident I needed to get in some serious monitoring at the site and have been visiting since mid January.

heavy snow fall early february probably delayed early emergence slightly but the first male was still a week earlier than last year.

As soon as the snow started to melt and the snow came out the early male popped out and peered across the snow.

Over the next few days a fewc more came out and yesterday was the best february adders spotting at this site I have ever had with a total of 8 males in a neat little ball.

I'm currently doing a video of this site.

Anyway here are the images.

Image 1 at hibernacula 8th Feb
image 2 this male was around 50m from hibernacula on a bracken bank in full sunshine where the snow had melted quickly 8th Feb
Image 3 insitu of adder in image 2
Image 4 ball of adders yesterday as main hibernacula

will View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote will Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2015 at 3:29pm