the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Herpetofauna Native to the UK > Smooth Snake
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New to the scene

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kogia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to the scene
    Posted: 15 May 2012 at 9:56am
Hi all, wasn't quite sure where to put my first post, but plumped for the smooth snake as that's what my search focus is mostly on now, my apologies if this isn't in the correct place or suitable content.

I'm a zoologist and did a short stint as an ecological surveryor here a few years ago, but I've just recently returned to the UK after living abroad where I really got into herping, so I'm fairly new to UK herp habits. I am now recording and reporting everything I find to local ARGs and thought it might be nice to chat to other herpers.

I'm currently living in Hertfordshire, but have been driving down to Surrey a bit to scout out their more varied herp possibilities and although I try not to turn wildlife watching into listmania, I am now very keen to spot some smooth snakes and natterjack toads.

If anyone in the Herts/London/Surrey/ Essex areas is heading out anytime and fancies having a green tagalong (I do tred quietly).... I was about to say where I was heading tomorrow, but then thought that might be fowned upon due to species protection?

all the best

will View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote will Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2012 at 6:49am