the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Herpetofauna Native to the UK > Common Lizard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Monitoring the Common Lizard

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Monitoring the Common Lizard
    Posted: 02 Aug 2003 at 12:28pm

Dear All.

I have started to keep records of the common lizards and slow worms sighted in my garden. I have noticed that members are posting sightings of various reptiles. Other postings I have noticed members ask if any research has been done in particular areas (e.g. slow worms on/under tins).

I am a science teacher, teach biology to Alevel and having completed a BSc and and MSc in Biological Sciences I so have a fair understanding of ecology and scientific research. So I was wondering if there is any useful research I could do, definitely over the next 4 weeks possibly over a longer period.

Immediate questions perhaps members may be able to help me with:

a) What is the basic useful information for a survey? (Currently I record, date, time, weather, location and am trying to map the locations of individuals over time). The population lives on a piece of overgrown land in my garaden (anout 2mx3m) this backs onto a much larger area of very overgrown grassland.

b) Currently I rarely disturb the lizards, I have handled one injured (caught by my cat  and a couple of "slow" juveniles), but record sightings backed up by digital photos when I can. What is a good way of estimating population size? Is it ok to catch and handle them? - is it necessary?

c) Any ideas of mini projects? (I have access to a variety of data loggers, digital light meters, temperature sensors etc).