the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > General > UK Reptiles and Amphibians
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Moving frogspawn

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote uw_photographer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Moving frogspawn
    Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 8:45pm
I work in a school and have a 4-foot fish tank (currently unoccupied). I was wondering about taking some frog spawn and some floating plants from my garden pond and placing them in the tank at school, so the students could follow the development from eggs to froglets.

I would propose to leave the tank unheated, and return creatures (and plants) back to the pond before the summer hols.

Any advice welcome

Thanks
Charles Erb
undersea-images.com
travellingaurora.wordpress.com
GemmaJF View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GemmaJF Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 8:55pm
Better to use trays of water. The big risk is the water becoming deoxygyenated, a shallow tray provides a great surface area thus helping to prevent it. Provide some pond weed which will have algae (for young tadpoles to graze on) some species will help with oxygenation. It's also an idea to provide extra oxygen supply in the form of a simple aquarium pump.

Common frog tadpoles start of vegetarian and then turn carnivorous, so some provision of live food and separating out the faster developing larva make sense as they develop.

When they are nearly ready to metamorphose, you could then transfer them to the fish tank, with a shallow water area and some land. (It will need an escape proof lid!!)