the online meeting place for all who love our amphibians and reptiles
Home Page Live Forums Archived Forums Site Search Identify Record Donate Projects Links
Forum Home Forum Home > Conservation > Method & Management
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Adder monitoring methods

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pulmonata Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Adder monitoring methods
    Posted: 07 Mar 2007 at 5:38am

Hey people. I'm relatively new to this, and I could really do with some help and advice.

I may have the chance to become involved in an adder project that will involve determining the population size. So, capture-mark-release methods should, I beleive, be used. The question is, which?

I have heard a lot about about digital photographic recognition being used to monitor grass snakes. How applicable might this method be for adders? Are there any alternatives (scale clipping, paint...)

I also would like some information regarding Home Office licensing with respect to obtaining samples for genetic study (scales, swabs, blood) and for the surgical implantation of miniture radio transmitters.

Any help, even if its just to say that I'm crazy, would be appreciated.

J

administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Mar 2007 at 5:58am

Your crazy.

Na just kidding.